Making Democracy Work

Calendar

The LWVCC Calendar includes League-sponsored meetings and events for the public and League members, as well as key dates for local government and elections.

Date & Time        Place        Description
Monday, January 4, 2016
4:00 pm
Town House Town Meeting Warrant Closing.
Wednesday, January 6, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
Fowler Library Board Meeting.
Friday, January 8, 2016
9:15-11:00 am
Trustees Room, Concord Public Library First Friday Town Talks. Joseph O'Connor, Chief of Police for the Town of Concord, will describe his background as well as the duties and the many responsibilities of this important department.
Wednesday, January 13, 2016
7:30-9:30pm
Trinitarian Congregational Church, 54 Walden Street, Concord Public Forum: Money in Politics. Jeff Clements will speak and lead a discussion on "Keeping the American Promise: Money, Free Speech and Democracy"
Snow date Friday, January 15, 7:30-9:30pm
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Tuesday, January 19th, 9:00am-1:00pm
Fowler Library Money in Politics Consensus Meeting. LWVCC morning Money in Politics Consensus Meeting
Snow date Friday, January 22, 9:00am-1:00pm
Tuesday, January 19, 2016
7:30 pm
Town House Town Caucus. Snow date: January 20
Thursday, January 21, 2016
7:00-10:00pm
1360 Monument Street Money in Politics Consensus Meeting. LWVCC evening Money in Politics Consensus Meeting
Snow date Friday, January 22, 7:00-10:00pm
Saturday, January 30, 2016
Morning
Colonial Inn Member Breakfast. Speaker: Peter Levine, topic: Civic Renewal.
February 2016
Date tbd, 2:00 - 3:30 pm
Town House Hearing Room, 22 Monument Square, Concord Concord Candidates' Forum.
Monday, February 1, 2016
7:00
Town House Public Hearing: Finance Committee. Town budget & articles, including capital. Snow date: Tuesday, February 2.
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
7:00
Town House Public Hearing: Finance Committee. School budget & articles, Community Preservation Committee articles. Snow date: Thursday, February 4.
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
TBD Board Meeting.
Friday, February 5, 2016
9:15-11:00 am
Fowler Library First Friday Town Talks. Seth Dugan, Concord Public Information Officer
Monday, February 8, 2016
7:00
Town House Open Hearing: Board of Selectmen. Snow date: Wednesday, February 10.
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
7:00
Town House Open Hearing: Planning Board. Snow date: Thursday, February 11.
Tuesday, February 9, 2016
9:30am registration, 10am-noon
Gardner Auditorium at the State House
for directions, visit:
https://malegislature.gov/Engage/Directions
Day on the Hill. Our theme this year is "Why This? Why Now? What Finally Moves Legislation." A panel will explore why bills that are introduced session after session finally gain traction and a chance to become law.

Our panelists will be Sen. William Brownsberger on criminal justice legislation; Rep. Shawn Dooley on election reform; and Pamela Wilmot, executive director, Common Cause of Massachusetts, on public records access. They will discuss how those bills finally moved forward and then more generally discuss the legislative process and how advocacy groups like the League can spur action. After the panel presentation, LWVMA legislative specialists will outline specific bills we are following.

Monday, February 15, 2016-Friday, February 19, 2016
 
  School vacation.
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
Time TBD
TBD ASC Meeting.
Sunday, February 21, 2016
2:00-3:30 p.m.
Town House Hearing Room, 22 Monument Square, Concord Carlisle Candidates' Forum.
Monday, February 29, 2016
7:00
Town House Open Hearing: Finance Committee. Enterprise Fund budgets & articles. Snow date: Tuesday, March 1.
March 2016
Date TBD
  Local program planning.
March 2016
Date TBD
  Town Election.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016
(tentative)
  Prsidential Primary & Town Election.
Wednesday, March 2, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
TBD Board Meeting.
Friday, March 4, 2016
9:15-11:00 am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Sunday, March 13, 2016
2:00 am
  Daylight Saving Time begins.
Wednesday, March 23, 2016
Time TBD
TBD ASC Meeting.
April 2016
Date TBD
  Concord Town Meeting begins.
April 2016
Date TBD
  Carlisle Town Meeting.
Friday, April 1, 2016
9:15-11:00 am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Monday, April 4, 2016-Thursday, April 7, 2016
7:00
Concord-Carlisle Regional High School Town Meeting.
Wednesday, April 6, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
Concord Board Meeting.
Monday, April 18, 2016-Friday, April 22, 2016
 
  School vacation.
Wednesday, April 20, 2016
Time TBD
TBD ASC Meeting.
Wednesday, May 4, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
TBD Board Meeting.
Friday, May 6, 2016
9:15-11:00 am
Fowler Library First Friday Conversations.
Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Time TBD
TBD ASC Meeting.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016
(or Wednesday, May 25, TBD)
TBD Annual Meeting.
Wednesday, June 1, 2016
9:00-11:30 am
1360 Monument St, Concord Old/New Board Meeting.
Thursday, June 16, 2016-Saturday, June 18, 2016
 
Washington, DC LWVUS Convention.